The Web Conference

The Web Conference (formerly WWW conference) is a yearly international conference on the topic of the future directions of the World Wide Web.

The Conference aims to provide the world with a premier forum for discussion and debate about the evolution of the Web, the standardization of its associated technologies, and the impact of those technologies on society and culture. The conference brings together researchers, developers, users and commercial ventures --- indeed all those who are passionate about the Web and what it has to offer.

The World Wide Web was first conceived in 1989 by Tim Berners-Lee at CERN in Geneva, Switzerland. The first conference of the series, WWW1, was held at CERN in 1994 and organized by Robert Cailliau. The International World Wide Web Conferences Committee (IW3C2) was founded by Joseph Hardin and Robert Cailliau later in 1994 and has been responsible for the conference series ever since. Except for 1994 and 1995 when two conferences were held each year, WWW became an annual event held in late April or early May. The location of the conference rotates among America, Europe, and Asia. In 2001 the conference designator changed from a number (1 through 10) to the year it is held; i.e., WWW11 became known as WWW2002, and so on.

Starting with the 2018 edition, the conference series previously known as World Wide Web Conference (WWW) has been renamed as The Web Conference or TheWebConf with a new brand and a new communication model. Until 2021, the conferences have been organized by the IW3C2 in collaboration with Local Organizing Committees and Technical Program Committees. The 2022 edition marked another important change in the history of this conference series: it is now integrated into ACM SIGWEB and will be managed by a new steering committee within ACM.

Conference History

May 13-17, 2024


  • Conference Chairs: Tat-Seng Chua, Chong-Wah Ngo
  • Program Chairs: Ravi Kumar, Hady W. Lauw

April 30-May 4, 2023

Austin, Texas

  • Conference Chairs: Ying Ding, Jie Tang, Juan Sequeda
  • Program Chairs: Lora Aroyo, Carlos Castillo, Geert-Jan Houben

April 25-20, 2022

Lyon, France

  • Conference Chairs: Frédérique Laforest and Raphaël Troncy
  • Program Chairs: Elena Simperl, Deepak Agarwal, Aristides Gionis

April 19-23, 2021

Ljubljana, Slovenia

  • Conference Chairs: Marko Grobelnik and Jure Leskovec
  • Program Chairs: Marc Najork, Jie Tang and Leila Zia

April 20-24, 2020


  • Conference Chairs: Yennun Huang and Irwin King
  • Program Chairs: Tie-Yan Liu and Maarten van Steen

May 13-17 2019

San Francisco, California, USA

  • Conference Chairs: Ricardo Baeza-Yates and Leila Zia
  • Program Chairs: Ling Liu and Ryen White

April 23-27, 2018

Lyon, France

  • Conference Chairs: Pierre-Antoine Champin, Fabien Gandon and Lionel Médini
  • Program Chairs: Mounia Lalmas and Panagiotis G. Ipeirotis

April 3-7, 2017

Perth, Western Australia

  • Conference Chairs: Rick Barrett and Rick Cummings
  • Program Chairs: Eugene Agichtein and Evgeniy Gabrilovich

April 11-15, 2016

Montreal, Canada

  • Conference Chairs: Jacqueline Bourdeau, Jim A. Hendler and Roger Nkambou
  • Program Chairs: Ian Horrocks and Ben Y. Zhao

May 18-22, 2015

Florence, Italy

  • Conference Chairs: Aldo Gangemi, Stefano Leonardi and Alessandro Panconesi
  • Program Chairs: Krishna Gummadi and Chengxiang Zhai

May 7-11, 2014

Seoul, South Korea

  • Conference Chair: Chin-Wan Chung
  • Conference Vice Chairs: Sung Joon Choi, Sang-goo Lee and Sue Moon
  • Program Chairs: Andrei Broder, Kyuseok Shim and Torsten Suel

May 13-17, 2013

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

  • Conference Chairs: Virgilio Almeida, Hartmut Glaser and Daniel Schwabe
  • Program Chairs: Ricardo Baeza-Yates and Sue Moon

April 16-20, 2012

Lyon, France

  • Conference Chairs: A. Mille, Fabien Gandon and Jacques Misselis
  • Program Chairs: Michael Rabinovich and Steffen Staab

March 28-April 1, 2011

Hyderabad, India

  • Conference Chairs: S. Sadgopan and Krithi Ramamritham
  • Program Chairs: Elisa Bertino and Ravi Kumar

April 26-30, 2010

Raleigh, NC (USA)

  • Conference Chairs: Michael Rappa and Paul Jones
  • Program Chairs: Juliana Friere and Soumen Chakrabarti

April 20-24, 2009

Madrid, Spain

  • Conference Chairs: Juan Quemada and Gonzalo León
  • Program Chairs: Yoelle Maarek and Wolfgang Nejdl

April 21-25, 2008

Beijing, China

  • Conference Chairs: Robin Chen and Jinpeng Huai
  • Program Chairs: Wei-Ying Ma, Andrew Tomkins and Xiaodong Zhang

May 8-12, 2007

Banff, Canada

  • Conference Chairs: Carey Williamson and Mary Ellen Zurko
  • Program Chairs: Peter Patel-Schneider and Prashant Shenoy

May 22-26, 2006

Edinburgh, Scotland (UK)

  • Conference Chairs: Leslie Carr, David De Roure and Arun Iyengar
  • Program Chairs: Carole Goble and Mike Dahlin

May 10-14, 2005

Chiba, Japan

  • Conference Chairs: Tatsuya Hagino and Allan Ellis
  • Program Chair: Fred Douglis and Prabhakar Raghavan

May 17-22, 2004

New York, NY (USA)

  • Conference Chairs: Stuart Feldman and Mike Uretsky
  • Program Chairs: Marc Najork and Craig Wills

May 20-24, 2003

Budapest, Hungary

  • Conference Chairs: Péter Bakonyi, Gusztáv Hencsey and Bebo White
  • Program Chairs: László Kovács, Steve Lawrence and Robin Chen

May 6-11, 2002

Honolulu, HI (USA)

  • Conference Chair: David Lassner
  • Program Chairs: Dave De Roure and Arun Iyengar

May 1-5, 2001

Hong Kong, China

  • Conference Chairs: Nabuo Saito and Vincent Shen
  • Program Chairs: Michael Lyu and Mary Ellen Zurko

May 15-19, 2000

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

  • Conference Chairs: Ivan Herman and Albert Vezza
  • Program Chair: Dick Bulterman

May 11-14, 1999

Toronto, Canada

  • Conference Chairs: Albert Vezza, Murray Maloney and Robert Cailliau
  • Program Chair: Alberto Mendelzon

April 14-18, 1998

Brisbane, Australia

  • Conference Chair: Allan Ellis
  • Program Chairs: Helen Ashman and Paul Thistlewaite

April 7-11, 1997

Santa Clara, CA (USA)

  • Conference Chairs: Christine Quinn and Bebo White
  • Program Chairs: Michael Genesereth and Anna Patterson

May 6-10, 1996

Paris, France

  • Conference Chair: Jean-François Abramatic
  • Program Chair: Bob Hopgood

December 11-14, 1995

Boston, MA (USA)

  • Conference Chairs: Ira Goldstein and Albert Vezza
  • Program Chair: Tim Berners-Lee

April 10-14, 1995

Darmstadt, Germany

  • Conference Chair: Detlef Krömker
  • Program Chairs: Tim Berners-Lee and Detlef Krömker

October 17-20, 1994

Chicago, IL (USA)

  • Conference Chairs: Robert Cailliau, Ira Goldstein and Joseph Hardin

May 25-27, 1994

CERN, Geneva, Switzerland

  • Conference Chair: Robert Cailliau
  • Program Chair: Oscar Nierstrasz